Events

What is Nonconsensual Pornography?

February 21, 2017

Written by: Alexandrea Scott, Program Attorney, Break the Cycle

“Would it be alright with you if I look at the picture he posted? I can give you better information if I know exactly what he said and what the picture looks like.” When I met Elena, she was only 15 years old. I knew from the referral that Elena’s ex-boyfriend, Marcus, had shared a nude picture of Elena on Instagram after she broke up with him.* Elena never intended for anyone other than Marcus to see her private picture, but Marcus had shown it to friends and classmates. By the time Elena met me, she knew the drill. She had already bitten the bullet and shown the image to her parents, her advocate, and more than one law enforcement officer.....read more.

Teen Dating Violence and Digital Abuse: Three Things Every Judge Needs to Know

February 8, 2017

By Dr. Elizabeth Englander, Massachusetts Aggression Reduction Center

Rebecca’s ex-partner sent a photo to her cell phone. A rope tied into a noose. Beneath the photo there was a text message that read, "Check out what I learned how to tie... Looks good hey!"

No one disputes the seriousness of teen dating violence but how teens abuse each other has become a very important part of any teen dating violence case. The impact of digital communications in abusive situations can be difficult for court officials to assess. But enough research exists for us to draw some conclusions about when to take digital forms of dating violence seriously....read more.

Teen Dating Violence: An Advocate’s Perspective

February 8, 2017

By Kaelyn Crede

A teen may want to be known as an athlete, an artist, a dancer or any number of things. But the last thing they want to be known for is being a victim of partner violence. Unfortunately, male and female adolescents are both at risk of experiencing dating violence, whether as aggressors, victims, or both. However, when it comes to teens and dating violence, many officials do not give this issue or the youth involved the respect they deserve. Advocates hear people lessen the importance of abuse between teens because they don’t see the severity or urgency. I have even heard judges and other professionals say that behavior consistent with teen dating violence is part of adolescence, and a normal part of growing up. I am grateful for advocates and community members that understand the risks of teen dating violence and educate their communities about the basic right that every person should feel safe...read more.

UPCOMING WEBINARS: Child Custody Webinar Series for Advocates

March 16, 2017 at 2pm ET | 1pm CT | 12pm MT | 11am PT
Beyond the Legalese: An Introduction to Family Court
Presenters: Amanda Kay, Program Attorney, National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, and Jennifer L. Woodson, Family Court Enhancement Project Coordinator, Multnomah County Circuit Court

April 18, 2017 at 3:30pm ET | 2:30pm CT | 1:30pm MT | 12:30pm PT
Evidence Basics: Helping to Make Sure Your Client’s Story Is Heard
Presenters: Hon. Shaun Floerke, Judge, Minnesota’s Sixth Judicial District Court, and Nancy Ver Steegh, Professor of Law, Mitchell Hamline School of Law

May 18, 2017 at 11:30am ET | 10:30am CT | 9:30am MT | 8:30am PT
Should I Stay or Should I Go? Interstate Child Custody Issues for Domestic Violence Survivors
Presenters: Deb Goelman and Sarah Whitesell, Co-Directors of the Legal Resource Center on Violence Against Women

To receive more information, or to register click here!

31 Facts for Domestic Violence Awareness Month

October 13, 2016
May 22, 2017, marks the 80th Anniversary of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges.
For nearly a century, the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges’ (NCJFCJ) mission to “improve the lives of the families and children who seek justice” has been a guiding principle in our work for Domestic Violence Awareness Month. For our annual 2016 Domestic Violence Fact Sheet, the Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody (a project of the NCJFCJ) seeks to honor survivors from different communities and backgrounds while also underscoring the impact domestic violence has on all victims.
The 2016 Domestic Violence Fact Sheet highlights the impact domestic violence has on victims, with special emphasis on domestic violence as it relates to communities of color, individuals who are disabled or affected by mental illness, children, LGBTQ victims, and tribal communities.

If you have any questions about these facts or domestic violence, please visit our website at rcdvcpc.org or call us at 1-800-52-PEACE. Also, please use the links at the end of this fact sheet to visit our partners within the Domestic Violence Resource Network (DVRN).
On behalf of the staff of the Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody, and all of the members of the NCJFCJ, we hope this fact sheet is helpful to your ongoing work with survivors and their families.

ABOUT RCDV:CPC

Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody.

Contact

1-800-52-PEACE or 1-800-527-3223
Email : info@rcdvcpc.org

NEWSLETTER

Sign up to receive our email newsletter which includes upcoming events, website updates, and our semi-annual publication, Synergy.

Call Us For Assistance
1-800-527-3223